For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

This year the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize to Jean Tirole "for his analysis of market power and regulation". On 8 December Jean Tirole will deliver his Nobel Lecture. On 10 December the official award ceremony will take place. In between, on the afternoon of Tuesday 9 December, ACLE, TILEC and ACM organize a symposium on the influence of Jean Tirole’s work on economics as a science and its applications in the regulation of markets.

Detail Summary
Date 9 December 2014
Time 12:30 - 17:00

Programme on 9 December 2014 

Chair: Henk Don (ACM)

12:30-12:45 Opening – Jarig van Sinderen (ACM)

12:45-13:40 Procurement and Investments

Gijsbert Zwart (University of Groningen) – Optimal Procurement and Investment in New Technologies under Uncertainty;

Bert Tieben (SEO Economic Research) – Merchant Investment and Wind at Sea.

13:40-14:15 Two-Sided Markets

Tobias Klein (Tilburg University - TILEC) – Competition Policy in Two-Sided Markets (with Lapo Filistrucchi);

Bo Hu (Tinbergen Institute) – Market-Making Middlemen (with Pieter Gautier and  Makoto Watanabe).

14:15-14:30 Break

14.30-15.15 Round-Table on Competition and Regulation

Eric van Damme (Tilburg University – TILEC) – Deterring Violations of Corporate Crime (with Cedric Argenton);

Paul Nillesen (PwC) – Negotiated Settlements: The Dutch Case?;

Maarten Pieter Schinkel (University of Amsterdam – ACLE) –Discretionary Authority and Prioritizing in Government Agencies(with Lukás Tóth and Jan Tuinstra);

Jan Kees Winters (RBB Economics) – Telecom Regulation and ACM's Recent Draft Local Loop Decision: Collective Dominance in the Spotlights (again) (with Matthijs Visser);

Arnoud Boot (University of Amsterdam – ACLE) – Prudential Regulation and Competition in the Financial Sector .

15:15-15:50 Networks

Florian Schütt (Tilburg University) – Net Neutrality and Inflation of Traffic;

Bert Willems (Tilburg University – TILEC) – Optimal Regulation of Network Expansion (with Gijsbert Zwart).

15:50 – 16:05 Break 

16:05 – 17:00 Miscellaneous

Jaap Abbring (Tilburg University) – Dynamic Oligopoly Models and Empirical IO;

Jan Bouckaert (University of Antwerp) – Horizontal Subcontracting and Intermittent Power Generation (with Geert van Moer);

Michiel Bijlsma (CPB) – Competition for Traders and Risk;

17:00 – Closing Drinks


Programme Symposium on Jean Tirole 2014

Announcement Nobel Prize for Jean Tirole at Official Website Nobel Prize Organization

Nobel Lecture of Jean Tirole, December 8th, 2014

Symposium presentations and papers


Registration is required and possible till 4 December. Please send an e-mail to

Practical Information

  • Walk-in lunch from 12:00. Start program at 12:30
  • Venue: Authority for Consumers & Markets (ACM), Muzenstraat 41, 2511 WB  The Hague
  • Bring a VALID ID (!)